Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Articles & Databases

What is a Database?

Library databases are online catalogs that contain information about journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

They provide:

  • Citation information for each article (who wrote it, where it was published, etc.)
  • An abstract (a summary of the article)
  • The full text of the article (in some cases)

Go to A-Z list hyperlinked icon

Find Full-Text Articles

Full text of an article not available? Click the "Find fulltext" Full text icon image button in the database.

This link allows you to:

  • Link to the article in other databases
  • Find a hardcopy at SJC or nearby libraries

To request an item from another library, click:

Locate a Journal

To locate periodicals (magazine, newspapers, journals) search by title (ex. New York Times) or keyword (ex. biology) below.

 

Discovery: McEntegart Hall Library

Background Information

Start your reseach by locating background information in these databases.

Article Databases

These databases are relevant to locating articles relating to Education

Video Databases

Using Keywords & Boolean Logic

EDU234 Journal Report

Use this guide to help you complete the Journal Report assignment.

Primary School Resources

The following is a list of databases that contain primary school level material