Skip to main content

Faculty Resources: Tech Services

Scannx: Book Scan Center

http://www.ccpcopy.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/Scannx-1.jpg

The Scannx Book Scan Center is an integrated scanning system with touch screen monitor to guide you through the scanning process. The system includes an 11”x17” beveled edge book scanner that permits you to scan a book right into the binding edge without breaking the spine. Scannx can scan documents in many file formats, including PDF, Word Docs, Jpegs and Tiffs, right to your email or smartphone.

Visit the copier area on the first floor of the Reading Room to try the scanner yourself!

 

NoodleTools

NoodleTools Icon

Use NoodleTools to create your References, Works Cited, or Bibliography page in APA, MLA or Chicago/Turabian format.

Classroom Tech: Panopto

APA style video tutorials:

Want to insert a video into the Course Material page of your Canvas course? Follow the instructions below.

  1. Navigate to the page in Canvas where you'd like to insert a video (such as module, announcement etc.)
  2. Click on the Panopto Recordings icon  in the Rich Text Editor
  3. Select a video 
  4. Click Insert Video

Research Tips

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Many full-text resources are available.  

Set St. Joseph’s library as your home institution and refine your searches. To customize the site go to scholar.google.com, select Settings, Library Links (left), and search “St. Joseph’s College, NY.” Select the institution and click Save.

Now you’re ready for Google-powered searches of our database holdings.

 

Journal Locator

The Journal Locator provides full text access information to all of SJC’s electronic journal holdings.  You can also search by subject, ISSN, and collection.  Visit the Journal Locator for more information.

 

LibGuides 2.0

http://mediawiki.middlebury.edu/wikis/LIS/images/8/89/Libguides.PNG

Like SJC’s site-wide redesign, LibGuides got a makeover this summer, too.

LibGuides are web-based research guides with librarian-curated content in each subject area offered at St. Joseph’s College. With this recent overhaul, students can expect to find the most current information on books, articles, websites and more. Librarians continue to add resources to guides in their subject specialties and faculty are encouraged to contact librarians about creating guides for their own class.

Check out your department’s LibGuide and contact your subject librarian to make recommendations or requests.